Online dating advice?

So for $39.99 a month I can find the love of my life? Wow that’s a great deal if you ask me. The problem with that is the men have to email me or email me back. I seem to be missing that part. The men I email never respond and the men who email me are usually the scariest freaks out there.

Theres another situation that can occur when online dating. When an interesting man does email me I always get back to them within a day or so. Then, once again, they disappear. Why email me in the first place, have me read your generic profile, only to never get back to me? You clearly found me interesting, then what?

I don’t understand and I’m looking to YOU for advice.

Seriously, I have friends and friends of friends who are happily married from such sites. What did they do right? Did they put something in their profile that attracted only the good guys? I’ve decided to post here my intro on my online profile. Please send any feedback to help me find real love and not all the scary ones I keep attracting.

About Me
I’m an energetic woman who loves life and is always looking to live it. You might find me running the streets of Manhattan, enjoying a coffee with a good book or checking out a new restaurant. I enjoy the arts and am often seeking out galleries and museums. Lately I’ve been loving Brooklyn more than SOHO. I run hard so I can eat what I want. I’m adventurous and really lucky to have great friends to explore life with. I’m just missing that one amazing man to start the next part of my life with.

About LookingForLove

Single in the city is often fun when you get home from a terrible date, but have a fun story to share with your friends...
This entry was posted in dating, Love, New York City and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Online dating advice?

  1. DMN says:

    “The men I email never respond and the men who email me are usually the scariest freaks out there.”

    Lysa, since I don’t know you, my practical advice to solve this problem would be to wink/flirt almost indicriminately at tons of men and let the ones who are interested contact you by responding to your wink. Then, you’ll get a much better of sense of your realistic options, i.e.your market — the guys that are actually interested and not just responding politely to the email you send. If you don’t like any of the guys that are interested in you then you need to recalibrate your standards or improve yourself. (Pictures are everything online too.) Remember you are being judged, just as you are judging.

  2. Britt says:

    I met my bf of 2 years on jdate. Look for people you have friends in common with. Mine was the 1st guy I wet out with but just stick with it and I promise it’s worth it

Leave a comment