The Doctor Is In

This morning I woke up at 4:00 am to work at the New York Half Marathon. I was managing the medical tent at mile nine. I love running and planning events so anytime I’m asked to work a race I’m in.

I spent the morning helping cramped runners finish the race while enjoying the energy of the crowds. My doctor was a handsome, funny, interesting but married man. We had so much fun cheering everyone on and chatting the day away, while making sure the injured runners continued to the finish line.

At the end of the morning he asked if he could set me up with his doctor friend. “Of course” I said. Well I didn’t know he meant right then and there. After working in 20 degree weather for eight hours, starting my day at 4am.

Minutes later The Doctor from Philly arrived. He was so funny and had me laughing in minutes. He asked if I wanted to join him for breakfasts so we jumped on the train and headed to my favorite diner downtown. I was absolutely exhausted but he kept me entertained with interesting banter and stories of his past. We decided to continue talking and grabbed coffee next door and finally he walked me home.

A really nice guy out of nowhere. It’s interesting how fast life can change. Someone who you never knew existed can walk into your world. Now let’s see if he calls…

About LookingForLove

Single in the city is often fun when you get home from a terrible date, but have a fun story to share with your friends...
This entry was posted in dating, New York City. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Doctor Is In

  1. Well, did he call you back then?
    If he’s a nice Jewish doctor and you happen not to like him, send him my way.
    I’m up for a lifetime achievement award for most failed J-dates.

Leave a comment