Let’s call him CRAZY

So last week I met a man while walking my dog. He lives and works in my neighborhood so we started chatting. After a few days of texting we decided to have a Sunday night cocktail. It was almost hurricane weather but I made it there mostly dry.

After only a few minutes of talking he grabbed my hand. I said “You are quite aggressive and I’m quite shy” and pulled back. Part of me thought it was sweet and the other part ‘you don’t even know me.’ After a drink he decided we should go somewhere else. I pointed out the rain that was now horizontal with the wind but he insisted. We walked a few blocks to another bar I knew and he decided to hold my hand. This time I went with it.

At the next bar I waited for him to make conversation but nothing. Finally I said “If you could ask me anything, what would you want to know about me?” I thought this made it easy for him to open up and maybe give us something, anything, to talk about. We literally sat there for 5 minutes, which felt like 30, while he thought. Nothing, he didn’t ask me my favorite color, if I had family, what my dog’s name was. RED FLAG.

After drinks we walked home, about an hour after we met. He pulled me aside and starting kissing me. I wanted to think it was romantic, with the rain coming down, but I kept thinking ‘I feel nothing.’ This guy didn’t want to get to know me and he’s acting like my boyfriend. When we got to my apartment I thanked him and he asked if we could go out again Wednesday, “why not” I said. Maybe he was nervous or shy?

WRONG. The next two days he texted me over 100 times. Asking me what I was doing, wearing, could he come by and hang out and if I could come say hello on my way to work. He called me three times Tuesday morning BEFORE 7:30am to see if I wanted to meet for a coffee. Again, I’ve known you for an hour and you go from that to insane. Why? Well finally I texted him that “I left for work and have a good day.” Never heard back after that. Phew.

I don’t understand how a 36-year-old ‘man’ goes from not wanting to get to know me when he had the chance to texting from 7:00am to almost midnight non-stop, which little or no response from me.

About LookingForLove

Single in the city is often fun when you get home from a terrible date, but have a fun story to share with your friends...
This entry was posted in dating, New York City and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let’s call him CRAZY

  1. D is single says:

    First thought: Pssshht, there was obviously a reason he’s single. Second thought: Oh crap….so am I.

  2. Mr KnowItAll says:

    Sounds like a an obsessive nut job. Don’t do it again!

Leave a comment