Mr Adorable and his apology

So yesterday I received the most interesting, out of the blue call. Mr Adorable, whom I dated at the end of last year, came up on my caller ID. I didn’t ever delete his number because I always thought it was bad timing and hoped to hear from him one day. Our first date was what I call Magical, cheesy I know but once in a while you just feel that. https://datinginnewyorkcity.wordpress.com/2010/12/06/mr-adorable/

Our dates were amazing, hours of talking, laughing and getting to know each other. The only problem was that after one of our nights out, it would be days before I heard from him again. Finally it was time to move forward and be intimate or stop seeing him. All signs led me to not call him back because I was hurt that after our last date, where I asked him to call the next day, it took 3 days to hear from him.

So yesterday I was so confused when he said “Hey Looking for Love, how are you? It’s Mr Adorable.” He asked how my weekend was and we chatted for a few minutes until I said “So I have to ask, why are you calling me?” Silence. “I’m calling to apologize for my behavior when we were dating. I think it was bad timing on my part and I treated you terrible. I was new to New York, to my apt, to my job…and my friends were telling me I had to go out and date. I’ve thought about you a lot since then and realized I didn’t treat you right. I’m calling to see if you would consider letting me take you out one night and make it up to you. I promise that I’m a good guy with good intentions.” Silence.

It was my turn to open up: “Now let me be honest with you. I know we had something special. I knew it then and was hurt each time we would go out and connect, then days later I would hear from you. You kept me at a distance and it was hard but because I liked you I was willing to wait, until I realized you were not able to get closer to me. I’ve been on many dates since and I come home and wonder why it wasn’t like our dates, usually we have nothing to talk about. So you have been in my thoughts and I want to say yes but I’m just not sure.”

It made me wonder if people can change. Maybe if situations do, then the rest will follow. Does timing really affect a potential relationship, or lack of?

He asked me out for last night but I had plans and didn’t want to jump back into something I know can hurt me. We left it that he would call me this week to see when we could go out. I had to say yes. I’m someone who knows something special when I see it. I hope he does too this time.

About LookingForLove

Single in the city is often fun when you get home from a terrible date, but have a fun story to share with your friends...
This entry was posted in dating, Love, New York City, Online Dating and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Mr Adorable and his apology

  1. Anonymous says:

    For sure, consider going out with him again – but you should totally be the one calling the shots. From an objective, outsider’s point of view this looks very suspect. His past behavior makes it sound like he is an absolutely classic player. He’s not 25 years old- he’s old enough to do the right thing and not act like a jerk. The excuses about his friends/job etc are exactly that – excuses. So, by all means go out with him again but if he is not behaving at 110% of how a ‘good guy’ should behave then send him to “Dumpsville, population him”. And, delete his email address and #. You sound like you’re a catch so make sure he earns your affections properly – and if there is any recurrence of player-ism – get rid, stat!

Leave a comment